Leichhardt Rowing Club was established in 1886. The first clubhouse was opened by Sir Henry Parkes in 1887. The club has been a part of rowing in Sydney since that time and we have had many notable achievements including:

  • representation in the winning A.I.F. crew at Henley, England in 1919. From this crews efforts came the establishment of the Kings Cup Trophy presented each year for the Australian Championship Interstate Eight race
  • numerous representatives at Olympic and World Championships
  • Winners of the Rowing New South Wales Premiership in 1988, 2007, 2009, 2010 and 2014
  • Best Club at the Edward Trickett Regatta 2010
  • Club of The Year 2002 – Achievement Award from Rowing Australia

A history of the Club can be found on this History of Australian Rowing website.

Our current clubhouse was constructed in 2001 in a unique partnership with Pymble Ladies College with which we share the facilities. It is built on the shores of Iron Cove in a relatively sheltered position enjoying ideal rowing conditions all year round.

Our Club is now over two hundred members strong across school, junior, intermediate, senior, and master categories.

Our members come from across metropolitan Sydney, and we also have many students from schools in the local area who have become successful rowers with us at State and National level.

Our shed is shared with Pymble Ladies’ College.